In Search for My Cocktail: Gin & Tonic

I beleive that every casual to heavy drinker should always have a cocktail that they can call their own, something that they can order anywhere if they don’t like the crazy concoctions that the bartender recommends. For example, James Bond has the martini.

Shaken, not stirred. And possibly with a lemon peel instead of an olive. Or I'll shoot you in the face.

Don Draper has his old-fashioned.

Ask me one more question and I'll sleep with your wife. And your mother.

Now, I have encountered several cocktails that I’ve greatly enjoyed, but I’m not quite sure which I should call my own. So I’ve decided to look back on the various cocktails I have encountered in my not-too-very-long drinking career, and see why I will or will not be drinking certain cocktails. First, the gin & tonic.

There’s something magical about the way the bitter flavor of tonic water and the green christmas-tree flavor of gin combine to make something that is borderline-sweet. And with a lime slice to add a splash of citrusy brightness, you’ve got one of the most refreshing cocktails this side of a mint julep. Plus, they’re incredibly easy to make. You just need to figure out what proportions of tonic and gin you want in your drink, add ice and a lime wedge and that’s it! No bartender in the world could possibly screw it up!

But, it’s not the cocktail for me. Why?

…I loved it. I loved it too much.

3 responses to “In Search for My Cocktail: Gin & Tonic

  1. Is this supposed to explain the drunken call from you and Lucas on Friday night?

  2. slovakia has liquor that tastes like christmas wrapped in cinnamon. i am not kidding.

Leave a Reply

