Review: MGMT’s Congratulations

Like the album itself, the cover tends to confuse people, who then shrug and say, "That's not half-bad."

Review: WHYYY MGMT WHHHYYYYYY??!!!??!!?!! I THOUGHT I KNEW YOU BUT APPARENTLY I DON’T! WHY HAVE YOU LOST YOUR ELECTRIC FEEL? WAS THE FIRST ALBUM JUST YOU HAVING SOME TIME TO PRETEND? THINK OF THE YOUTH! KIDS! WHAT SONGS SHALL WE LISTEN TO NOW DURING OUR WEEKEND WARS? WELL CONGRATULATIONS! YOU’VE BROKEN MY HEART!

Once you get over the initial sense of betrayal and confusion, you’ll realize that this album isn’t that bad at all. It’s kinda like being married to Scarlett Johansson for a long time (in a magical alternate reality where people didn’t get less hot as time went by, maybe even hotter) and one day woke up to find that you’re actually in bed with Zooey Deschanel. At first you’d be like, “Wha-? But why? I liked her!” and then you’d be like “But then again, well hello there stranger ;)”

There are worse fates. Believe me.

The musical style of this sophomore album is very typical indie rock stuff, but that’s never been a bad thing, is it? I would definitely sit near a window sill and turn this music on while reading a book on my iPad and sipping a chai latte at a fair trade cafe. I mean, it is a bit unimaginative and overdone, but nothing I’d turn down. Kind of like an bacon avocado burger. It was a brilliant idea the first time around, but now everyone does it. Have you stopped eating them?

Seriously, awesome.

To be honest, I do long for the hit singles like ‘Kids’ and ‘Electric Feel’ and ‘Time To Pretend’. Not necessarily because they were better crafted songs than the ones in this album, but because good electric indie pop is much harder to come by than psychedelic indie rock, which nowadays is a dime a dozen. I could name ten bands that sound like Congratulations, but none that sound like Oracular Spectacular. But I won’t. It’s still too early for that.

4 responses to “Review: MGMT’s Congratulations

  1. All this review has succeeded in doing is make me really want a bacon avocado burger.

  2. indecisiveturtl

    Do you really have an iPad?!

Leave a Reply

