iTunes Genius Surfing

Sometimes I get bored and try to find out what sort of crazy things I can do with the things I have at hand. But usually I don’t. Today, I decided to try something new: iTunes Genius surfing! Now, iTunes’ Genius feature has been improving to the point where I don’t necessarily fear that I’ll have any unfortunate Bon Iver-Paramore linkages, although the jury is still out on Genius Mixes (Romantic Mix, iTunes? Really???). But I figured, there’s probably some bizarre six degrees of separation sort of thing inherent in the Genius system that can lead me from Mozart to Adam Lambert, so I decided to create a series of Genius Playlists, moving from one song to the next. I started with “You Can’t Always Get What You Want” by the Rolling Stones, but you probably know it from Glee, don’t you? That’s okay, that’s how I learned about it, too. Here’s the result.

1. You Can’t Always Get What You Want – The Rolling Stones

2. Tale of Brave Ulysses – Cream (An Eric Clapton classic from the 60s)

3. Can’t Find My Way Home – Blind Faith (Another Eric Clapton classic from a later period)

4. Badge – Cream (Oh wait, we’re back to that earlier Eric Clapton period)

5. Bell Bottom Blues – Derek and the Dominos (Back to future Eric Clapton)

6. I Can’t Stand It – Eric Clapton (Later Eric Clapton)

7. After Midnight (slow) – Eric Clapton (Eric- must I say it???)

8. Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door – Eric Clapton (Originally a Dylan song! Perhaps a breakthrough?)

9. Crossroads – Cream (Oh god, never mind…)

10. Let It Rain – Guess who. (No, not the band Guess Who, Eric Clapton!)

Okay, so it wasn’t actually like I was surfing from genre from genre, but sort of stuck in the gigantic whirlpool of Eric Clapton. Further evidence that Clapton is God.

Doesn't even need a Claption. Get it? Get it???

Leave a Reply

