Review: 500 Days Of Summer Soundtrack

SO MUCH ZOOEY DESCHANEL. JOY.

SO MUCH ZOOEY DESCHANEL. JOY.

Review: When I realized that the soundtrack for 500 Days of Summer had come out yesterday, I started giggling insanely with glee. I haven’t giggled that insanely since a few hours before when I was watching HP6 and Dumbledore suggested that Harry should let Professor Slughorn “collect” him. Teehee. There I go again.

So I bought the soundtrack off Amazon, and to my great delight, the album cover was a mosaic of pictures of Zooey Deschanel. That’s possibly the greatest idea for an album ever. Some might find it a little creepy, but those people SHOULD GO AWAY. You should know that any discussion I have about 500 Days Of Summer will invariably degenerate into the glorification of Zooey Deschanel, the closest thing we have to an actual Greek Muse. Yes, I spent quite some time admiring the brilliant design of the album cover… She’s so purty. You really can’t get enough Zooey Deschanel. This album cover however, is an adequate fix. So I’ll be giving the album an A+. And that’s that.

Okay, if you really want to hear about what’s actually on the album, fine then, I’ll talk about it. I was extremely happy to find that all the trailer music was on the soundtrack. Usually that doesn’t happen, because typically trailers will use some amazing songs that will get people excited about the song, and then the musical director or whatever will realize that there’s no appropriate place to put the music in the film. Or sometimes, they’ll use the songs in the trailers and the movie, but mysteriously omit them from the soundtrack. ELFMAN!!!! Yes, the album has “There Is A Light That Never Goes Out” by the incredibly melancholy but amazing Smiths, which is the song that played in the elevator when Zooey Deschanel told Joseph Gordon-Levitt that she liked The Smiths and signaled the beginning of a possible romance and caused me to start listening to The Smiths in hopes of meeting a Zooey Deschanel type in the elevator (I haven’t been very successful. Every time I realize this, I take out my iPod and sadly change the song to Taylor Swift’s “Love Story”), Regina Spektor’s “Us”, another great song that was in the trailer, Hall & Oates’ cheery classic “You Make My Dreams” and Wolfmother’s “Vagabond”, all songs used in a wonderful trailer, and most importantly, The Temper Trap’s “Sweet Disposition”, the most glorious song I have heard from a band who I’m sure will become the next big indie thing. I am assuming that since these songs are all on the soundtrack, they must be used in the film. I haven’t seen the film, but I am excited to see where they use “Sweet Disposition”. I might cry a bit.

The other song choices are also brilliant. The first song, titled “A Story of Boy Meets Girl” is the only original song on the soundtrack, and it’s basically the introductory monologue narrated by the same guy who did the trailers. It’s quite funny. I could go through all the songs and tell you why they are perfect for this movie, but instead, I’ll just explain the general themes and pick a few choice examples. Some of the songs seem to be uplifting songs about love, but most of them are heartbreakingly wistful and sad. For example, The Smiths’ “Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want” and She & Him (MORE ZOOEY DESCHANEL)’s cover of the same song is pretty self-explanatory. Your heart cries just a little bit reading the title of the song, doesn’t it? Another beautifully sad song is Carla Bruni’s hit “Quelqu’un M’a Dit (Someone Told Me)”. I mean, it’s dreamy if you just listen to it without understanding the lyrics, but if you know quoi quelqu’un s’a dit, it’s utterly heartbreaking. I mean, even with my rudimentary French comprehension skills, my heart was shattering whenever she said “quelqu’un m’a dit que tu m’aimais encore (someone told me that you still loved me)”. But the songs aren’t all classics. There’s a healthy balance between

Overall, this is an incredible album with amazing songs from some very great artists, both old and new. I have already heard that while this movie might be the Annie Hall of our generation, this album might be the Garden State soundtrack of 2009. I have no idea what that means, but I hear the Garden State soundtrack was really popular because it was so indie (that sounds contradictory) and it launched The Shins into the mainstream. I guess it’s a good thing? Anyhow, since I haven’t seen the movie yet, I cannot judge the appropriateness of the music in relation to the movie, but regardless I think that this album is a must-have for anyone who wants to listen to some really, really good music while reminiscing about past relationships. Or Zooey Deschanel. Mmmm Zooey Deschanel…

Tracklist:

  1. “A Story of Boy Meets Girl” – Mychael Danna and Rob Simonsen
  2. “Us” – Regina Spektor
  3. “There Is A Light That Never Goes Out” – The Smiths
  4. “Bad Kids” – Black Lips
  5. “Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want” – The Smiths
  6. “There Goes The Fear” – Doves
  7. “You Make My Dreams” – Hall & Oates
  8. “Sweet Disposition” – The Temper Trap
  9. “Quelqu’un M’a Dit” – Carla Bruni
  10. “Mushaboom” – Feist
  11. “Hero” – Regina Spektor
  12. “Bookends” – Simon & Garfunkel
  13. “Vagabond” – Wolfmother
  14. “She’s Got You High” – Mumm-Ra
  15. “Here Comes Your Man” – Meaghan Smith
  16. “Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want” – She & Him
One response to “Review: 500 Days Of Summer Soundtrack

  1. I LOVE this soundtrack! It’s so, so amazing.

Leave a Reply

