Korean Men and Purses

Disclaimer: The author does not have the knowledge to speak authoritatively on the following subject. So he’ll just speak on the following subject.

There are some mysterious trends afoot in the Land of the Morning Calm. I’ve started to notice that a lot Korean men are carrying purses around. No, I’m not talking about messenger bags. I know what a messenger bag is, I myself carry one around. Those are perfectly acceptable. The little purses that Korean men carry in increasing numbers on the other hand, are not. They’d make Joey’s controversial manpurse of ten years back seem like a testosterone-pumping Spartan warrior of a manbag. And I’m not just talking about tote bags or small travel bags. Some of the bags are downright effeminate brand name purses that I am sure weren’t designed pour homme. A few days ago I saw a man dressed in business attire carrying a clutch purse in the subway. I’m not joking.

2 responses to “Korean Men and Purses

  1. I think they’re trying to emulate European fashion. The man-purses were all over France when I was there two summers ago.

    Meanwhile my dad is freaking out every time my brother carries his fiancee’s purse for 5 seconds.

    • Well, as the great Chinese philosopher Jimmy Choo once said, “A man who does not carry his fiancee’s purse shall not want of a Givenchy clutch.”

Leave a Reply

