My iTunes Top 25 (6-10)

We’re almost to the very top…but the top reflects more of the songs that I’ve been listening to repeatedly, not necessarily my usual tastes. This section should do a better job.

10. Skinny Love – Bon Iver

Remember a couple days back when I said I absolutely loved Bon Iver? Well, this is my favorite Bon Iver song from the the debut album For Emma. Second favorite overall, after Blood Bank from the EP Blood Bank. Like Flume, this song has a wintry feeling (all the songs on For Emma have that feeling), but there’s something warmer about this song. It’s not quite as lonely, probably because it’s about skinny love. I have no idea what skinny love is, but it sounds nicer than a flume. But it still feels like you’re locked up in a cabin in a blizzard. At least someone lit a fire this time. Definitely give it a listen. You will not regret it.

9. Chocolate – Snow Patrol

I am mystified that this song is up here, but I guess it’s because of iTunes Genius. After all, it’s a nice easy listen, especially if you are on the road. I don’t have much else to say about this song.That’s how little I know about it.

8. Why Do You Let Me Stay Here – She & Him

She & Him is the name of the musical collaboration between musician M. Ward and goddess/actress Zooey Deschanel. I adore Zooey Deschanel. She has a quirky personality, excellent music taste, beautiful eyes, and an amazing voice. I could listen to her voice all day. If they made a movie that consisted of her talking about random things, that would be amazing. That is slight very creepy. But yes, she has an amazing singing voice, which I first heard in Elf. And she has tremendous musical talent, unlike those other movie talents who think they can release an album just because they can sing very, very well. Sorry Scarlett, a Tom Waits tribute album doesn’t cut it. But yes, this song is from She & Him’s debut album, Volume One. I am patiently waiting for Volume Two, Three, and Sixteen. Zooey takes a retro spin on music that I absolutely love. It’s a quirky song (with a quirkier music video) with lyrics that make utterly no sense. The song starts off like this: “Why do you let me stay here/ All by myself?” What kind of terrible person would leave an angel like Zooey Deschanel all by herself? GIBBARD!!!!

7. Jizz In My Pants – The Lonely Island

I have no reason to explain myself. I listened to the song and JIZZED. IN. MY. PANTS. Well, not really, I was really bored and there was an interesting SNL Digital Short and it was really catchy and one thing led to another and….

6. White Winter Hymnal- Fleet Foxes

The Fleet Foxes are a great band to listen to while lying around in a patch of sunlight. This is their most well-known song. Despite the fact that this song is about winter and snow, it also has the same effect of making you feel like you’re lying next to a large window on a pleasant afternoon with the sun shining on your face. Mmm, it makes me want to go drive off into the mountains for a quiet hike. No, that’s not code for “fly to Buenos Aires to meet my Argentinean lover.” This song makes me crave pine trees and high altitudes. I think that’s slightly more respectable, don’t you?

Stay tuned for the emotionally-charged final segment of this series! It will be long, meandering, and borderline Palin.

4 responses to “My iTunes Top 25 (6-10)

  1. #7. FTW.

  2. My guitar player Pete turned me onto them, awesome. The making of video is awesome – sick harmiones

    – dion

  3. Meant to say Fleet Foxes…..

    • I know, their vocal harmonies are absolutely ridiculous.
      I just checked out your music and WOW. You’ve just won another fan! I’m definitely going to write a post about your music sometime.

Leave a Reply

