My iTunes Top 25 (11-15)

Interestingly, this section seems to reflect my pre-2008 tastes, particularly my high school years. Many of them are also songs that you can hear me sing them in public even when I’m completely sober. Well, there’s a better chance I’ll sing them whilst drunk, but you get the point.

15. Wonderwall – Ryan Adams

I’ve always had a soft spot for Oasis and Wonderwall in particular. I missed one of their concerts a few years back, and the memory has haunted me ever since. However, they are coming to a rock festival in a couple of weeks, so I will not make the same mistake again! Having said that, I really liked Ryan Adams’ acoustic rendition of it, one that Noel Gallagher himself liked so much that he often performs it in this manner. However, I don’t think I liked it enough for it to merit a place on my top 25.¬† I like the original version much better. But unfortunately, this is the version that is found in many of my iTunes Genius playlists, which I tend to play without question. I guess it represents my appreciation for the Genius system.

14. Supermassive Black Hole – Muse

I love dance rock. It’s awesome. If I ever started a band, it would be a dance rock band. I was very surprised to find that this song was the only vague dance rock song on my top 25. I would have expected a Franz Ferdinand song to have made it also. Oh well. Although Muse is not a dance rock band, this song is easily one of my favorites. It’s probably the only song that I will unashamedly sing along to in an exaggerated falsetto. Not in public areas, of course. Well, most of the time. Not to mention that Muse is one of my favorite modern bands. I went to one of their performances once, and Supermassive Black Hole was one of the few songs that I knew very well at the time. That and Starlight, which is another amazing song. For those of you who don’t know much about Muse’s live performances, they are absolutely unbelievable. I fell in love with their music then and there, and I’m really looking forward to their new album, which is supposed to be amazing.

13. Here (In Your Arms) – Hellogoodbye

This is my favorite summer song. For some reason, I always feel like I’m at a pool or the beach on a really nice sunny day whenever I listen to this song, despite the fact that I’ve never listened to the song in either location. There’s something incredibly adorable about the synthpoprockness of the song (yes, I know that’s not a word), and for some reason, I really like the lyrics. Yes, it reminds me of young, carefree (summer) love. Wait, summer… perhaps the song makes me feel like 500 DAYS OF SUMMER? HMMM? Perhaps my love for this movie was destiny. Regardless of that, I always feel very happy when I listen to this song, and I think it would have actually been in the top 5 if I didn’t reset my library.

12. Lost Cause – Beck

Apparently, this is one of the most heartbreakingly depressing songs ever written and a staple of post break-up playlists, written by Beck after a particularly painful relationship meltdown. I of course had no idea about this, as I still have a hard time recognizing the song. However, I did give the song a try (after all, there must have been a reason I listened to it so many times without realizing it), and I found that it was indeed, one of the most soul-crushingly sad songs I have heard in recent years. But I still had no idea why I had listened to it so many times. I guess it’s another Genius frequenter.

11. Never Let You Go – Third Eye Blind

Oh, the 90s. Such a glorious time for pop music. I really like the beginning guitar part of the song, because it’s so simple, yet catchy. People seem to look down on power chords for some reason, but I feel there is a reason guitarists use them. However, this is not my favorite Third Eye Blind song, as I prefer Semi-Charmed Life. It’s another Genius issue, I guess. I seem to have a lot of those. Not that I don’t like this song, I like it a lot, but Semi-Charmed Life feels so incredibly 90s to me, and everyone loves the 90s, right?

Leave a Reply

