What’s A Moffling?

Now, most of you are probably confused as to why I chose “Moffling” as my address for this particular blog. Unless you have come upon me on Battlenet or the Korean Stormrage server on World of Warcraft a few years (months) back, you will have no idea that I knew of such a word. Or that such a word existed. Indeed, you will probably be as confused as I was when I googled “moffling”, only to find that one of the definitions on Urban Dictionary is “an act of public masturbation”. That is most definitely not the word I had in mind, and you should not associate that meaning with the term. The following explains where I got the word.

My history with the word Moffling goes back nearly a decade, back when I was a small child with a hyperactive imagination and an unhealthy Star Wars obsession, stuck in a foreign country where the only thing they spoke was Korean, and the only thing starting with “Star” that they knew was Starcraft. As a source of comfort, I resorted to the familiarity of the Star Wars Expanded Universe, learning about many historic events that occured after the Battle of Endor portrayed in Star Wars Episode VI: Return of the Jedi, times such as the landmark Truce at Bakura, where the Rebel Alliance temporarily joined forces with the Imperial Remnant to push away a common enemy, or the battles with the brilliant tactician Grand Admiral Thrawn, or the entire episode with the witches of Dathomir and Prince Isolder of the Hapes Cluster wooing Princess Leia Organa, and the young Jedi adventures of Jaina and Jacen Solo, with Jacen, grandson of Anakin Skywalker, later succumbing to the Dark Side and becoming Darth Caedus and threatening to bring down the New Republic, which was still reeling from the destructive Yuuzhan Vong War which claimed trillions of lives*-but I digress.

Anyway, among the many novels I read, I encountered one by Timothy Zahn, most famous for his Thrawn Trilogy, titled Specter of the Past. In this book, there is a scene where Luke Skywalker attempts to infiltrate the lair of the Cavrilhu Pirates, only to have his cover blown and be trapped. At this point, Control (which I assume is an umbrella term for the supervisor of a facility) gloats, calling Luke “The Grand High Moffling”, which I assume is a derogatory reference to the Imperial title Moff, which is some sort of space governor. To make a long story short, Luke manages to escape with the help of Mara Jade, former Emperor’s Hand and his future wife, and I think they get married in the next novel. But yes, that’s where I first heard the term Moffling, and I liked the sound of it, so I’ve added it to my lexicon of fictional words.

Indeed, I started using it for computer game IDs and such, since Moffling has a rather nice ring to it even in Korean, and I even devised a cartoon character named Moffling, who was originally a bumbling Grim Reaper-in-training but like oh so many other comicbook heroes, ended up having far too many powers in far too many alternate universes (like I said, I had a hyperactive imagination), so I left him in my many notebooks and textbooks. A pity really, since I was even thinking of making plush dolls in his resemblance, but never could figure out how to conceptualize him in a 3-dimensional manner. I would show a picture, but unfortunately I don’t have a scanner. Maybe once I finally install Photoshop, I’ll present a computerized version of him. But yes, the name Moffling comes from there. So that’s that.

*I didn’t even have to consult Wookieepedia to mention those events. That’s rather sad.

One response to “What’s A Moffling?

  1. Also, congratulations. I just Googled “Moffling” and you, not Urban Dictionary, are now the #1 Google result with this post. You win.

Leave a Reply

