500 Days Of Summer

I am excited

I am excited

I haven’t seen this movie, but I know that it will be my favorite movie of the year. Why? DO I NEED A REASON TO THINK THAT IT WILL BE THE AWESOMEST MOVIE OF ALL TIME? NO! But nonetheless, I will give you several reasons:

1. The premise: According to the Apple Movie site, “Boy meets girl. Boy falls in love. Girl doesn’t. This post modern love story is never what we expect it to be — it’s thorny yet exhilarating, funny and sad, a twisted journey of highs and lows that doesn’t quite go where we think it will. When Tom, a hapless greeting card copywriter and hopeless romantic, is blindsided after his girlfriend Summer dumps him, he shifts back and forth through various periods of their 500 days “together” to try to figure out where things went wrong. His reflections ultimately lead him to finally rediscover his true passions in life.” Now, that sounds like the description for a movie titled “She’s Just Not That Into You”, but so much better!

2. The trailer: Now, it isn’t often that I get excited by trailers that don’t have or imply explosions in them. But one fo the trailer for 500 Days Of Summer was possibly the most beautifully subtle trailer that I have ever seen. Narrated by a pleasantly voiced man, the trailer consisted of scenes depicting various emotions that often accompany love, including tenderness (Joseph Gordon-Leavitt brushing some hair from Zooey Deschanel’s face), uncertainty (amazing scene choice of Zooey Deschanel greeting another guy while Joseph Gordon-Leavitt is looking), awkwardness (Joseph Gordon-Leavitt gets on a bus, everyone of the passengers is Zooey Deschanel) and my favorite, distance (he tries to hold her hand but she moves it away and I’m like EEEEEEEEE!!!). Also, the trailer music by the Temper Trap was possibly the first song that I tried exhaustively to find through legal means before sufficing myself to streaming it on websites. The other trailer is quite amazing too, more story-driven but equally appealing.

3. It seems to have the qualities of the best romcoms: It has the genre-bending situations of Annie Hall (there’s a musical dance sequence with animated woodland creatures), the realistic banter of movies like When Harry Met Sally and Before Sunrise/Sunset (this I’m speculating from a 30 second clip and the trailers), and most importantly, I’m not even sure if they get back together in the end!

4. The actors: I have only heard good things about Joseph Gordon-Leavitt, but the real reason I’m excited is the female lead, Zooey Deschanel. She is my current favorite actress, partly because of her adorable quirky persona, mesmerizing eyes, and soothing voice, and partially because she’s half of the amazing musical collaboration that is She & Him. More on them some other time. But since the first time I saw her in Elf, I have been an avid fan of her sometimes questionable (Yes Man) and amazing (The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy) movie choices, and thought she was spectacular in each and every one of them. And she looks amazing in this one. Too bad she’s engaged to the vocalist of Death Cab for Cutie. GIBBARD!!!!

5. The hype: Now that some people have actually seen and commented on the movie, I have no doubt that it will not be a crappy movie. I could have told you without seeing the movie myself, but you wouldn’t have believed me. But I have heard from some sources on the IMDB forums that it is a movie worthy of a position next to When Harry Met Sally, which gets me really excited. Another person who saw it at Sundance agreed with this, saying that “500 Days Of Summeris like When Harry Met Sally … if Sally turned around and repeatedly stabbed Harry in the heart with a toothpick.”Another reviewer likened it to the Juno, Little Miss Sunshine, or Slumdog Millionaire of 2009. I have no idea what that means, but I think it’s a good sign. I am not alone in my excitement! Plus, I really hope that the movie presents a more relatable break-up movie hero than Woody Allen, because honestly, you have issues if you can relate to Woody Allen.

6. My gut reaction: When I first saw the trailer, my initial reaction was, “OH MY GOD ZOOEY DESCHANEL!” My second reaction was, “I HAVE TO SEE THIS MOVIE!” and I experienced a rather pleasant gut-wrenching feeling of excitement. That was several months ago, I’ve seen the trailer countless times, yet I continue to feel like the proverbial giddy schoolgirl every time I see the trailer or read the synopsis. I think this movie is going to be huge, and if it is, this post is proof that I called it. And if it isn’t, I’m still going to like it a lot. I shall drag all my friends to see it again and again and again.

Leave a Reply

